Versatile Blogger Award: International Women’s Day Edition

They tell me that today is International Women’s Day. (Consequently, it’s also Women’s History Month here. Some folks, like the Evil Geeks with their Women’s History Warriors series, have been posting some superb stuff so far this month about women.)

The Big Blog of All the Shit I Know also tells me that I’ve won a Versatile Blogger Award, so I get to do some more noms. And hey, cool, thanks. I like awards. And I like The Big Blog of All the Shit I know. Today’s award post will be dedicated to the women-folk who read this blog and whose blogs I read and enjoy.

The Versatile Blogger Award

The Versatile Blogger Award

The rules of accepting the award are:

  • Display the award on your blog
  • Announce your win with a post and thank the blogger who nominated you.
  • Present 15 deserving bloggers with the award.
  • Link your nominees in the post and let them know of their nomination with a comment.
  • Post seven things about yourself.

Right then.  The fifteen nominated blogs are in no particular order. All of these blogs are owned and written by women, and I’m happy I found each and every one of them. Now if you’re on this list and you don’t “do” awards, that’s fine–I just want you to know I’m paying attention and that I like what you do.

That Montreal Girl
Things Matter: A History Blog

Sunshine Searchers Inc.

Science Fiction, Transmedia, and Fandom
Not a Punk Rocker
Tipsy Lit
Taylor Grace
NOLAFemmes
Alva’s Almanac
Confessions of a Geek Queen
Rose B Fischer
It Goes On
Creighton Creation
Melissa Fong
Social Media

In keeping with the theme, but in a slight departure from the rules (because, well, why not), I’m going to link to 7 posts about women that have piqued my interest over the last few days rather than giving 7 random facts about myself:

26 comments

  1. Hey there! Thanks for the shout out –
    what does NSWF mean? Something about bad language, I’m sure – but I’m still learning this stuff – xo

    Like

      1. I’ve been told that my blog is blocked on a lot of workplace computers- flagged for obscene content.

        *sigh* But many times I don’t even cuss! Oh well, many times I do!

        Like

  2. This is one of the best award nomination posts I’ve read so far.

    Funny – every time I sit down and start to make a list of bloggers to give awards to, I come here and see that you’ve nominated several of the people on my list for an award already.

    Like

    1. Hooray! Told you I was cooking up a little something for Women’s Day. ;)

      And yes…I find that sometimes when you’ve done an award post before me, some of my nominees are whisked away, too.

      Like

      1. I probably worry about it more than I should, but I don’t like to overload people with awards. I know when I get two or three in a very short period of time, it overwhelms my brain a little.

        Like

        1. Agreed. I try to space out nominations and to make sure I’m not doing double nominations on something like this that I’ve done more than once.

          Like

Talk to Me

